FilChi Weblog

National Chess Open @ SM Manila December 2006

Posted on: December 19, 2006


Before going home, I planned to go to SM Manila and do sight-seeing.When I went on the fifth floor, I noticed many people gathering together in a place. I didn’t know that National Chess Open already took place since last monday, December 18 ,2006. I managed to see famously known professional chess players like Mark Paragua, and Wesley So.

I also met one of the chess players I once played against in a blitz game during my college days. There was Oliver Dimakiling. He became immediately known for beating our own chess Grandmaster Eugene Torre. Randy Segarra was there, I was told by Oliver. But, I didn’t see him that day to compete. I also saw my friend Gerry Yulo, also fond of chess, and many times, my opponent in chess. He told me his first game was with Randy; of course, Randy won that game. I just laughed when he sighed and wished that Randy should have let him win the game instead if he wanted to default on the competition.

Leave a Reply

