FilChi Weblog

My own comments regarding the PHP Everywhere event by PHPUGPH

Posted on: December 3, 2007


First of all, before I say out loud my own comments regarding the event by PHPUGPH held last Saturday, December 1, 2007, I want to clarify that I am not siding with anyone on this matter. I think that both sides have equal strong points so I say they both win in their own arguments.

Because, this monday, I immediately surfed the net to visit the PHPUGPH forums, and found a thread containing a link to the rants of a fellow PHP developer regarding the PHP Everywhere event. Everyone on that specific thread in the PHPUGPH forums reacted as if they were affected very much by it. And I felt very disappointed in these guys that couldn’t take criticisms well.

I just told these guys in that forum,

hot-na-hot kayo sa rants niya ah! ahehehe… ;)”

I just thought that he(Hagiri) is also a PHP developer so I guess he has the right to rant about it and he might have some ideas how to do better than just organizing great events such as this, right? Why would we be so much affected by one person ranting about the seminars during the event,about the purpose of organizing such an event, and the reason why this event should have been thought of in the first place?

About Hagiri’s rants:

“lahat ng topic na yan consired isang topic diba… bat pa ginawang 3? php and mysql… lamp for life.. eh for short php at mysql pa din naman.. bakit pa hiniwalay.. “

Yes, he’s got a point, why not?

“ito ang the best part.. ‘intermediate’.. kung isa kang intermediate user/developer gagamit ka ba ng 3rd party apps? oo para mapabilis trabaho.. professionally speaking tama ba ito? ini-expect ko topics ng intermediate tungkol sa sockets, creating php modules, classes…

Yeah, he’s got a point there again. I mean, I was also expecting some PHP tutorials that discusses alot about sockets, AJAX, XMLHTTPRequest, WSDL, AOP and the likes. I hoped to learn more about using XML/XSLT too.

ito lang ‘short summary’ ng mga pinagsasabi ko:
1. sa mga speaker (salamat sa mga pumunta at may malalagay ako sa resume ko na speaker ako)
2. sa mga pumunta (mailalagay ko PHP Developers Conference under ‘seminars’)
3. sa mga organizers (yes me konting kita)
4. sa mga sponsors (90% company/projects ng mga forum members / advertising)
5. sa mga walang gf (dami chicks :D)

Hmmm… I cannot defend him on this part. This is way too personal. Maybe he is just fond of speculating things.

My reaction to those people on the PHPUGPH forums:

1.I don’t see it in anyway he is like that trying to be like more elite to anyone, let me remind you that he’s just ranting. I hope I do not sound elite to you too.

2. To the organizers : gosh, why do you complain about how much you went through just to make this event happen? You should have expected these things if you really want to contribute to the Philippine PHP community, right!?Maybe he was right to conclude after all that you have other personal interests, and ulterior motives into bringing up the event.

My advice to all people on that thread on the PHPUGPH forum is that we should try to see if what he is saying is really true and accurate. If not, then we should point out our very best arguments to make his statements all wrong, but not like , to react and say things unprofessionally. We would really look and sound like “jologs” like what he said, because of that. Please, try to prove him wrong.

9 Responses to "My own comments regarding the PHP Everywhere event by PHPUGPH"

well said… need I say anything? 😉

Though I, myself contributed some of my time, doing voluntary task for the org… it’s still not an excuse to pull out myself of the criticism… and I need it to survive 😉 cheers!

“Yes, he’s got a point, why not?”
– It’s because the speaker happens to be the sponsor which even in the last minute some of the speakers were informed in short notice and topics were not properly discussed. Example, Aileen Apolo was only informed the night before our actual event because most of the members are very busy preparing things and accomodating queries.

“Yeah, he’s got a point there again. I mean, I was also expecting some PHP tutorials that discusses alot about sockets, AJAX, XMLHTTPRequest, WSDL, AOP and the likes. I hoped to learn more about using XML/XSLT too.”

– The group would love to discuss such topic but even the AJAX part, the speaker wasn’t able to attend his session because of some emergency matter in his company.

“My reaction to those people on the PHPUGPH forums:
1.I don’t see it in anyway he is like that trying to be like more elite to anyone, let me remind you that he’s just ranting. I hope I do not sound elite to you too.”

– Rants can be constructive nor destructive… don’t you think putting “HAYOP” in your blog would be constructive or elite as you say?

“2. To the organizers : gosh, why do you complain about how much you went through just to make this event happen? You should have expected these things if you really want to contribute to the Philippine PHP community, right!?Maybe he was right to conclude after all that you have other personal interests, and ulterior motives into bringing up the event.”

– The group would love to see “PHPCURIOUS” on every meeting which some members did aside from the post/help they’ve been contributing in the forum. Ey, aside from your 123 post so far in the forum…what contributions did you make so far to make Pinoy PHP Community grow…either PHPhilippines or PHPUGPH?

“My advice to all people on that thread on the PHPUGPH forum is that we should try to see if what he is saying is really true and accurate. If not, then we should point out our very best arguments to make his statements all wrong, but not like , to react and say things unprofessionally. We would really look and sound like “jologs” like what he said, because of that. Please, try to prove him wrong.”

– Proving wrong would not be an answer I guess, as always been announced in the forum…everybody is invited in every meeting. Why? malaki ang difference if you’re saying THINGS while sitting in the comfort of your chair and inside an airconditioned room than going to Ortigas meeting PHP developers alike…sharing ideas or even “rants” as you say.

“eto na pow… I will try not to delete your messages containing foul words and full of profanities.
Anyway, that’s your comment… that would reflect your way of thinking… ”
– Well, thanks for sharing your inputs as well.Cheers…

Thank you guys for your comments!
@Reynold Lariza
As long as you are happy doing this, speaking in front of public – in front of our fellow PHP developers, so that you could share your knowledge and experience, then I am glad. 🙂

@Clod:
I feel very bad that you seem to putting me the one to blame for it. Someone else said there are some failures, prove them wrong. And don’t tell me that I have to contribute too as a member of the group.

For those who were expecting sockets usage using PHP the topic would be too long to discuss in one day. XML would have been covered on my demo for drupal since im using it with twitter API but introducing Drupal alone couldn’t fit in the time slot.

@emac,

I am sorry for deleting your comment for it is inappropriate for other readers and unrelated to the topic. Please understand, thank you. 🙂

I was at the conference. Actually our group were one of the sponsors. I was instructed to man our booth. When I got there I saw no booth..it was just all tables and chairs, and we were not assisted, I couldnt even tell where we are suppose to seat.
The room was jam packed with professionals and students, I guessed the organizers under estimated the number of participants. Getting food, snacks and drinks will take you a good 10-15 mins, that being said, yes there are some inconveniences with the arrangements.

As for the topics, yes I agree that it somehow made me feel disappointed. I was just expecting a lot, And my expectation maybe was just different from everybody else, the problem IMHO is identifying the target audience.

But still “kudos” for the organizers for making this event happen, it takes a lot of effort and time. There are a lot of things to improve and Im hopeful to see that implemented in the next conference. The organizers should accept that you cant please everybody, No matter how hard you try, there are always people who oppose you. Accepting this possibility will ease the burden and make the process much easier for you.

@Joanna,

Thank you for your comment, and thank you for opening up your side of the situation. Your inputs will be heard by the organizers of the event.

very interesting.
i’m adding in RSS Reader

thats for sure, man

Leave a Reply

